History, progress, tradition

For almost a quarter of a century, the name MILLER has been synonymous with technical progress, engineering skills and modern high-performance drills and milling cutters. Over the course of the decades, the Illertal-based company has developed into a leading producer of precision tools and an important technology partner for prestigious customers from trade, industry and power engineering.

By integrating the company into the MAPAL Group, a strategic decision was made which ideally prepares the company for the future and guarantees customers and employees many years of security and stability.


Chronology

1991
The company is founded in Altenstadt as a production plant for drilling tools. On a production area of 200 m², 6 employees produced the first solid carbide drilling tools for customers from the machine engineering and automotive industries.

1997
The success, the quality of the products and the high demand speak for MILLER. A new facility in Altenstadt increases the production area to 2200 m² and the machine capacities are extended. At this time the company has 25 employees.

2001
Tribute is once again paid to the high demand for precision tools from Altenstadt. The production area is expanded to over 5000 m² and the machine capacities are boosted accordingly. In the meantime the company has over 40 employees in production and administration.

2007
The integration of the company into the global MAPAL Group headquartered in Aalen represents an important step towards safeguarding the company's future. MILLER nevertheless continues to operate independently. From this time on, MILLER ranks highly in the MAPAL Group as the competence centre for solid carbide tools and can continue to develop and produce its products independently and to sell them through its own sales structure.

2008
Another important measure towards building the future at MILLER is the further expansion of the premises. The expansion of the production area to over 10,000 m², the reorganisation of the internal quality organisation and the construction of an ultra-modern logistics centre creates one of the most modern factories for solid carbide tools in Europe. Enormous investments in the latest production technologies and the increase in the workforce to over 220 employees make MILLER one of the most innovative and efficient competence centres within the MAPAL Group.

2011
As part of a new brand strategy, the "tool-traders-partner" group is founded. The members BECK, MILLER and WTE distribute their products under their own brand name as a partner of trade in order to ensure more intensive support for the customers.

2014
In the light of continuous growth and the positive market situation, major investments are once again made in the areas of production technology and personnel. In the meantime MILLER has over 440 outstandingly qualified employees.

2015
Generation change at top management level. On 31 May 2015, Robert Wörner goes into a well-deserved retirement after many years of successful work for the company as Commercial Director. His successor, Dr. Tim Gudszend, an internationally experienced manager, takes over his duties.

To top

Geschichte, Fortschritt, Tradition

Seit einem viertel Jahrhundert steht der Name MILLER als Begriff für technischen Fortschritt, Ingenieurskunst sowie moderne leistungsfähige Bohrer und Fräser. Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte hat sich das Unternehmen aus dem Illertal zu einem führenden Hersteller von Präzisionswerkzeugen und einem wichtigen Technologiepartner für namhafte Kunden aus Handel, Industrie und Energietechnik entwickelt.

Durch die Eingliederung des Unternehmens in die MAPAL Gruppe wurde eine strategische Entscheidung gefällt, mit der das Unternehmen für die Zukunft bestens gerüstet ist und die Kunden und Mitarbeitern auf viele Jahre Sicherheit und Stabilität garantiert.


Chronologie

1991
Das Unternehmen wird als Produktionsbetrieb für Bohrwerkzeuge in Altenstadt gegründet. Auf einer Produktionsfläche von 200 qm wurden von 6 Mitarbeitern die ersten Bohrwerkzeuge aus Vollhartmetall für Kunden aus dem Maschinenbau- und Automotivebereich hergestellt.

1997
Der Erfolg, die Qualität der Produkte und die hohe Nachfrage sprechen für MILLER. Durch einen Neubau in Altenstadt wird die Produktionsfläche auf 2200 qm erhöht und die Maschinenkapazitäten erweitert. Die Mitarbeiterzahl beträgt in dieser Zeit 25.

2001
Erneut wird der hohen Nachfrage an Präzisionswerkzeugen aus Altenstadt Rechnung getragen. Die Produktionsfläche wird auf über 5000 qm erweitert und die Maschinenkapazitäten entsprechend aufgebaut. In Produktion und Verwaltung sind mittlerweile über 40 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

2007
Durch die Eingliederung der Firma in die weltweit agierende MAPAL Gruppe mit Sitz in Aalen wurde ein entscheidender Schritt in die gesicherte Zukunft des Unternehmens gemacht. MILLER wird trotzdem weiterhin eigenständig auftreten. Als Kompetenzzentrum für Vollharmetallwerkzeuge in der MAPAL Gruppe hat MILLER fortan einen hohen Stellenwert und kann nach wie vor seine Produkte selbst entwickeln, fertigen und über die eigene Vertriebsstruktur verkaufen.

2008
Eine weitere wichtige Maßnahme zur Zukunftsgestaltung bei MILLER ist die erneute bauliche Erweiterung. Durch den Ausbau der Produktionsfläche auf über 10.000 qm, die Neuordnung des internen Qualitätswesens und durch den Bau eines hochmodernen Logistikzentrums entsteht eine der modernsten Fabriken für Vollhartmetallwerkzeuge in Europa. Enorme Investitionen in modernste Fertigungstechnologien und die Erhöhung des Personalstandes auf über 220 Mitarbeiter machen MILLER zu einem der innovativsten und leistungsfähigsten Kompetenzzentren der MAPAL Gruppe.

2011
Im Zuge einer neuen Markenstrategie wird der Verbund "tool-traders-partner" gegründet. Die Mitglieder BECK, MILLER und WTE vertreiben ihre Produkte unter ihrem eigenen Markennamen als Partner des Handels, um eine intensivere Betreuung zu gewährleisten.

2014
Auf Grund kontinuierlichen Wachstums und der positiven Marktsituation werden erneut große Investitionen in den Bereichen Fertigungstechnik und Personal getätigt. MILLER beschäftigt mittlerweile über 440 hervorragend qualifizierte Mitarbeiter.

2015
Generationenwechsel in der Führungsebene. Zum 31.05.2015 verabschiedete sich Robert Wörner nach langer erfolgreicher Tätigkeit als kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer in den verdienten Ruhestand. Als Nachfolger übernimmt Dr. Tim Gudszend als international erfahrener Manager zukünftig seine Aufgaben.

2016
Start der Entwicklung und des Ausbaus eines weltweiten Nachschleifservices für Vollhartmetallwerkzeuge.

Feierlichkeiten zum 25-jährigen Firmenjubiläum

2017
Einweihung und Bezug des neuen Verwaltungsgebäudes

2018
Tobias Schiele übernimmt zum 01.01.2018 die kaufmännische Geschäftsleitung von MILLER

 

 

 

 

Nach oben